The U2nexpected Shrine

Dublin's Wall of Wailing Rock Fans

Wanna post on our wall?

I was in Dublin’s southern docklands on business today, and taking a wander at lunchtime came upon an unexpected stone wall in the middle of all the flashy glass office buildings.  An old wall, with tales to tell . .

The short piece of undeveloped land on Hanover Quay is the site of U2‘s famous recording studios, now demolished, but not forgotten by the bands legion of fans.

When you live in Dublin it is easy to be blase about the band’s international appeal, but I was amazed today at just how many of the tagged tributes were from forigen fans. The odd pieces of criticism seemed mostly to be local!

I’ve never been a huge U2 fan myself – I can take them or leave them – and if you ever hear me play them on the radio, it is done out of the sense of duty that I can’t let my own lack of enthusiasm dictate that others should never hear them.

But I have to admit, on stumbling across this unexpected shrine, to feeling a little glow of Irish pride nonetheless.

Steve

 



Leave a Reply

