10 years ago on Phantom breakfast

It’s now 10 years since, arriving back in Dublin after years living abroad, I discovered a darn good pirate radio station broadcasting rock and indie music on 91.6fm – Phantom FM (as it was known in those days).

Within a few weeks I had approached the station and become involved myself, my two years on the weekday breakfast show kicking off a very happy 10 years involvement with the station through it’s various phases as a full-time pirate (till May 03), temporary licenced station (twice in 2003/4), web only (while waiting for licence and legal results 2004-2006) and the current incarnation as the fully legit commercial station Phantom 105.2 from October 2006 to the current day.

I’ve had the best of times during these 10 years, and even though I finally had to cease doing regular weekly shows earlier this year due to other commitments, I still can’t tear myself away entirely, and crop up from time to time filling in for other presenters who are away.

I’m going to be doing a series of posts over the next few weeks looking back at my fondest memories from the last 10 years.

To start off, here is a look at the music and ads being played on Phantom back in my earliest days on the breakfast show.

I’ve transcribed this from a recording I hold of a complete shoe from 18th December 2000 –  10 years ago today.

News & Weather was written and produced by myself as was travel, in addition to presenting the show itself.

In my first months back in Ireland I did not have a car, and there was no bus which would get me in to Phantom in time for the start of the breakfast show, so I would arrive in as live programmes were ending at 11pm the night before, and spend the night in the studio, sleeping on the floor with a cushion for a pillow, a coat over me for warmth, huddled up against a little heater.When the show ended at 9am, I took a bus across town to a fulltime job in the IT industry, worked till 7pm, got home by 9, and had an hour to relax before getting the bus back in to Phantom for another night on the floor.

Ah, those were the days . .

In the dead of night, nothing is stirring in the old Phantom 91.6 studio except the needles on the mixer, as a night-time mix went out on auto. Qite a cosy pleace to sleep for the night, if a little cramped, and it was impossible to be late for the breakfast show.

The show below would be absolutely typical of the music played by me at the time. The tracks with an asterix * are A-List tracks, everything else being my own free choice. For the A-lists there were about 30-35 in the studio, refreshed regularly, split between new Irish and new International.

18 December 2000

(7am – news & weather)

*Marvin – No Good At Maths

(link)

Damien Dempsey – Chillin

Turn – Antisocial

Whistler – Faith In The Morning

(link + travel)

(ad – Phantasm)

*The Yo Yos – Home From Home

Offspring – Self Esteem

(link)

(7.30 news headlines)

*P J Harvey – Good Fortune

(link)

Therapy – Screamager

At The Drive In – Cosmonaut

Limp Biscuit –No Sex

(link + travel)

(ad – Wild Eagle tattoo studio)

(ad – Temple Bar Music Centre)

*The Crocketts – 1939 Returning

The Pixies – Here Comes Your Man

(link)

Pedestrienne – Soundwaves

The The – Infected

(link)

(ad – Whelans)

(ad – MCD Finlay Quayle & Primal Scream)

(8.02am – news & weather)

*The Walls – Some Kind Of A Girl

(link)

Smashing Pumpkins – Rocket

*Green Day – Minority

(link)

Bell X1 – Offshore

(link + travel)

(ad – Wild Eagle tattoo studio)

(ad – Temple Bar Music Centre)

(ad – Phantasm)

(link – competition for NPB tickets)

*Amen – The Price Of Reality

(link – winner of tickets to NPB)

Rush – Spirit of Radio

(link + 8.30 news headlines)

The Frames – Rent Day Blues

Liz Phair – Ride

(link + travel)

(ad – Wild Eagle tattoo studio)

(ad – Temple Bar Music Centre)

*Juliet Turner – Dr Fell

Eels – Novocaine For The Soul

(final link)

Candice – Maybe I

*JJ72 – Snow

Ash – Shining Light

(ad – Whelans)

(ad – MCD Finlay Quayle & Primal Scream)


3 Comments on “10 years ago on Phantom breakfast”

  1. Amazing! I can’t believe it’s been 10 years. I remember your breakfast shows so well, always the best thing to wake up to! Congrats darlin x

  2. Paul Rusling says:

    Steve, you are made OF radio, as well as for it. That enthusiasm you had for Phantom in the early days is the element thats missing from so much radio today. Thanks for all the great radio over the years, much appreciated.

  3. Ciaran says:

    Loved the Phantom breakfast show in those days, I remember your George Harrison tribute the day he died. It’d be great to hear more of you on the radio again.


Leave a Reply

