On being a Radio Slut

Radio can be anywhere . . . or everywhere

Monday 12th July sees my return to Radio Caroline after an 11 year break, and so I will now be presenting regular weekly shows for three stations – Radio Seagull (on Saturdays), Phantom 105.2 (Sundays) and Radio Caroline (Mondays).

So why three stations, and how can I justify each of them as being “the best” to their listeners?

To answer that, I have to track back in time quite a bit, a quarter of a century, to my first steps into the world of radio.  This month marks 25 years since I did my first ever radio show, on South East Sound, a small landbased pirate in South London, which was campaigning for a rock music licence for the capital city which had just 2 commercial stations at that time.

Now, 25 years on, we live in a world where there is vastly more choice available, in no small part due to the efforts of the people behind  stations such as South East Sound, Caroline and Phantom over the years and I’m delighted to be regularly broadcasting on three unique and strong independent operations in European radio.

Dublin’s Phantom 105.2 is at the centre of music culture in one of the most vibrant and creative cities in these islands, and I feel very privileged to be still going strong after 10 years with the station. I learn something new, discover something fresh and exciting every time I walk into the Phantom studios, and I love that.

Joining the crew at Radio Seagull has allowed me to be really creative in mixing classic and prog rock of 5 decades with new material in an environment where nothing is off limits, and it’s great to be able to bring some of the new Irish rock bands to an audience in The Netherlands and further afield.

And Radio Caroline, still a proud independent voice after all these years, gives me access to  a huge potential audience in the UK via the Sky Digital system, and lets me indulge in my taste for a wide range of musical genres. Caroline  has always been about real people sharing their passion for music in a down to earth style, and so many of the people I admire as real radio broadcasters have passed through it’s studios – or never left!

Back in 1985 when I joined South East Sound in London we were campaigning for more radio serving more interests, and I think it’s great that we have so much more choice in 2010, and that I can now be involved in three stations which though all different in content and coverage, are all keeping the flag flying for independent, alternative music and diverse voices on the airwaves.

Steve

Programme Times:

Radio Seagull 1800-2000 (UK/Irish time) every Saturday

Phantom 105.2 1200-1500 on Sundays

Radio Caroline 1400-1600 on Mondays.


One Comment on “On being a Radio Slut”

  1. Paul Rusling says:

    Totall agree with ALL your thoughts Steve. Im with you
    ‘cept, its not a Radio Slut, its a Radio Tart.
    BIG difference !


Leave a Reply

