Steve goes back to sea . .

Radio Seagull based on the former lightship "Jenni Baynton"

This weekend, and the week that follows is going to be one of the high points of my year, as I go back offshore and broadcast from a ship again, surrounded by fellow crewmembers from the offshore stations of years gone by.

“Radio Seagull” is a rock music station which broadcasts the overnight service on the Dutch station Radio Waddenzee, which is based on a former lightship, the Jenni Baynton, normally moored safely alongside the pier in the town of Harlingen.

But for the month of May the Jenni Baynton is putting out to sea again, and will be anchored some 8 miles off the Dutch coast, bringing radio back to the North Sea and providing a great opportunity for former pirates to relive the old days while bringing quality rock music, old and new, to an audience on AM and online.

I’m thrilled to have been invited to spend some time out at sea onboard the Jenni Baynton, and I will be on air each night on Radio Seagull from 10pm-1am CET (9pm-midnight BST) from Sunday 2nd to Thursday 6th May.

Over the month of May a whole host of people from the former Dutch and British offshore stations will be joining Seagull, and indeed I will be on board with my brother, Chris Kennedy, just as we were on Caroline back in the eighties.

Depending on mobile reception, I may be able to share pictures and update this blog while on board, if not, I will certainly do so on my return.

So watch this space, and tune in to Radio Seagull each night for some great classic and progressive rock from the last several decades.

Steve


4 Comments on “Steve goes back to sea . .”

  1. Paul Rusling says:

    Hope you have a great time out there Steve. I was hoping to come along too, bu have built up a massive backlog of work after my hospitalisation,
    but I can hear it on 1602 here so will be tuning in.
    Have a wonderful time, for me as well
    Very best regards

    Paul

  2. steveconway says:

    Thanks Paul, hope you are recovering well.

    I’ll be sure to say “Hi” one evening!

    Steve

  3. niamh bagnell says:

    Sounds like great fun, enjoy!!

  4. Mike Terry says:

    Have a great time Steve, will tune in, so much good radio with Caroline from The Ross as well.


Leave a Reply

