The civilised way to cross the Irish Sea

Norfolk Line ferry

I’m sailing off to the UK tonight to head down to Kent for my special Ramsgate book-reading on Saturday.

I’ve crossed the Irish sea so many times over the past 40 years, often via Irish Ferries or my old employer Stena Line to Holyhead, but I like the Liverpool route much better. It used to be the province of the old B&I Line, then Merchant Ferries in the early noughties, and is now run by Norfolk Line (and goes to Birkenhead rather than Liverpool – cutting off an hour of harbour lock delays).

It’s so much nicer to take the longer crossing, have a cabin all the way, and arrive refreshed, and about 100 miles closer to London.

And I still miss the sea, so a few extra hours afloat doesn’t do me any harm.

Steve


3 Comments on “The civilised way to cross the Irish Sea”

  1. Paul Rusling says:

    Norfolk Line are super people,
    AND YOU AVOID ALL THOSE SPEED TRAPS IN NORTH WALES AS WELL. GOOD CALL STEVE,

    HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND IN RAMSGATE, I WISH I COULD BE THERE WITH YOU (AND YOU DONT HAVE TO LAY LOW THIS TRIP!)

    • steveconway says:

      Many Thanks Paul – hope you are recovering well. I’ll be over again, and you are always welcome to drop into Phantom Towers if you are ever in this neck of the woods!

      Steve

  2. Niamh says:

    Best of Luck Steve, hope it’s lots of fun


Leave a Reply

