Return to Rathmines

Many years ago, on leaving school in the early 80s, I was interested in Journalism as a potential career. The only college offering a course in Dublin at the time was in Rathmines, but the applicants that year greatly outstripped the places on the course, and I didn’t get in. I forgot about journalism for a while as I got involved in the world of computers, until fate, and Radio Caroline, intervened.

I had almost forgotten this when I got a call this week from a friend of a friend who teaches one of the media courses there, asking if I would like to come in and be interviewed on the college radio station, which is running on 97.3FM until Friday 24th April.

Rathmines College Radio 97.3fm - with Robert O'Connor and Jessica Riley interviewing me on the Drive programme

Rathmines College Radio 97.3fm - with Robert O'Connor and Jessica Riley interviewing me on the Drive programme

It was really enjoyable visiting the college, and finally getting to play a part in one of their media courses, 25 years late, but better than never!

Listening to the station on the way over, I was impressed with the effort that had been put into the news and speech programmes, and the variety of guests who were participating.

Many Thanks to Jessica and Robert for a great afternoon.



Leave a Reply

