Nowhere Else

Someone was asking me this morning how long I’ve been with Phantom now. It’ll be 8 years in November.

8 years! That time has certainly flown by.

Our Programme Controller Sinister Pete was saying to me the other day that in all that time he has never seen me in a bad mood. (Unless you count than that one time that I was mildly grumpy when I couldn’t get the magic 8-Ball to work properly on The Two Petes . .)

I’m not some sort of a saint who goes round in a perpetual good mood. I’m just usually pretty happy when I’m around Phantom because I enjoy it so much. What’s not to like about being paid to come in and play music that I enjoy, discover new music being played by the others on the station or listed by the Music Director, and get texted or emailed by a whole bunch of people who seem very receptive and happy with what I’m doing?

There is lots of grumpy Steve when I am doing my other job in the IT industry or struggling to meet deadlines for college or journalistic assignments.

But Phantom, no matter what time of day or night, no matter how busy I have been, or how many hours I’ve already worked, is a tonic, and a wake-up. I always leave the studio with a foot-wide smile on my face. No other place could do that for me.

Time really does fly when you’re having fun.

Steve



Leave a Reply

